Becoming a Notary Public in California has never been so easy. If you are interested in becoming a notary public here’s a step by step of what is needed for you to become a Notary in California.
To be eligible for appointment, a person must:
· Be a California resident at the time of appointment (unless appointed to serve on a military or naval reservation);
· Be at least 18 years of age;
· Complete a course of study approved by the California Secretary of State; (We have Live Notary Classeson our site both live and online classes available)
You have to take a 6-hour class if being appointed for first time and 3-hour course for renewing on time.
· Pass a written, proctored, closed-book examination; and
· Pass a background check.
State law requires all applicants be fingerprinted as part of a background check prior to being granted an appointment as a notary public. All applicants are required to disclose on their application any arrests for which trial is pending and all convictions. Convictions dismissed under Penal Code section 1203.4 or 1203.4a must be disclosed. If you have any questions concerning the disclosure of convictions or arrests, contact the Secretary of State prior to signing the application.
If you meet the requirements above. Keep reading, Here’s the Process:
1. Take Our 6-hour or 3-hour course of How to become a Notary Public in California.
2. Fill out an Application form located here: https://www.sos.ca.gov/notary/forms/
(If you are attending our classes, we will have them on site. For those who take our course online it is included in your forms list for print out.)
3. Take a 2” x 2” color passport photo for Application
(If you are attending our classes, we will have your photo taken on site. For those who take our course online you can choose to come in and get your photo taken or find someone near your location and take it. Do know, you cannot take examination without this step.)
4. Pass a State-Proctored closed book exam.
Before taking test, you will submit
1. A current photo identification (CA Driver’s License or I.D. Card issued by the D.M.V);
2. Your Complete & Current Application,
3. Your 2” x 2” color passport photo
4. The Proof of Completion certificate issued after taking your course.
5. The registration confirmation letter; and
6. $40 exam and application fee made payable to the California Secretary of State,
$20 exam fee for applicants who previously took the exam and failed. Payment must be by check or money order made payable to the Secretary of State (cash is not accepted at the exam site).
If you meet the requirements above. Then congratulations let’s move to the next step of success. Take Our 6 hour course of How to become a Notary Public in California. Our classes are available live and online. Our live 6 hour courses come with immediate access to our online course, quizzes, flash cards, etc. to get you on the road to success. If you choose our online class option you can choose to come in at a later time for a live class or get certified online on your own time.
notary supplies, online course 30 days, notary seal business is located notary public commission california secretary of state expiration date state of california state required secretary of state county clerk office and bond notarial act surety bond notary training courses principal place of business live scan education courses commission expires