In this topic, we will discuss how to become a notary public in Texas. We discuss requirements and frequently asked questions to help you better understand the process. Let’s start firstly with how hard is it to become a notary in Texas? (See step by step guide below)
What are the requirements?
Firstly, before becoming a notary in Texas, it is important to ensure you meet requirements. Requirements are based on residency, age, and background.
1. You must be a Texas Resident (you do not have to be a U.S. Citizen)
2. Age requirement of at least 18 years of age
3. Lastly, no conviction of a felony.
In conclusion, you must be a resident of the state of Texas, have no felonies, and be at least 18 years of age.
We’re notary public class.
state approved trainings,
loan signing training, and more.
In short, we try our best to make the experience of becoming a notary in your state easy and quick. And this topic is to showcase our business and help you learn. Lastly, you might have found yourself having a hard time obtaining this information.
Become a Texas Notary
Secondly, if you meet requirements to become a notary in Texas, here are the next steps.
- First, make sure you meet Texas requirements above.
- Obtain a surety bond of $10,000.
- Complete your notary application.
- Submit your notary application, proof of your bond, and a $21 filing fee to the state.
- Receive your commission packet from the state
- To perform duties, you must take your oath of office.
- Purchase your notary record book, notary seal, and any additional notary supplies.
- Take additional training like loan signing and
- and, although optional, get errors and omissions insurance.
This section intends to answer as many questions as possible. For instance, what do i receive, who gives the commission, etc. Now that you understand the process of becoming a notary in Texas, check out the frequently asked questions section for any questions you may have about the process.
How do i get my oath of office done?
You will need to complete this step by taking your commission certificate to a commissioned notary of Texas.
What do I receive once my application is processed?
From the state notaries receive notary public commissions.
Who gives commissions?
Texas secretary of state offers residents of the state of Texas notary commissions.
ONCE SIGNED AND NOTARIZED, do I return my Commission to the Secretary of State’s Office?
No. The notary will show their Commission when performing their duties.
How do I renew as a Texas notary public?
Similarly to initial application with renewing, you submit 90 days before commission expiration:
- A completed Form 2301
- Obtain and show proof of $10,000 surety bond; and
- lastly, a filing fee of $21.
Can I do online notarizations?
You may apply to be commissioned as an online notary, also known as a “RON,” when commissioned. Moreover, the term “RON” refers to a remote online notarization Please visit Getting Started as an Online Notary Public for further assistance.
You can perform notarial acts with digital certificates and electronic seals. Make sure to follow Notary laws.
Can I change my commission name?
You may change your name by filling out a name change application, which is form 2305, a notary commission certificate, an endorsement or rider, and lastly, a $20 fee for filing.
Do I need to keep a record of what i do?
Yes. As a Texas notary, you must maintain a record of each notarization completed. Moreover, even if done for free. Here are details needed in your notary journal:
- the date of documents
- the date of notarization you performed.
- the name of principal or signer.
- the signer’s address
- Lastly, identification and establishment
The person for whom signed is not required to sign in the journal; however, other information must be placed.